BROKERS AND LENDERS
Applications and Forms (Mortgage Brokers and Lenders)
- Jurisdiction Specific Documents
- Fingerprint Processing
LICENSE & REGISTRATION APPLICATIONS
Applications for a new mortgage broker/processor or lender license or registration must be made through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS). The Department will review and approve or deny your Georgia application through the NMLS.
Processing of background checks and fingerprint cards for brokers, lenders and processors must still be submitted through the Department. Instructions and checklists are available through the NMLS website. Review of law enforcement agency information may extend processing time up to 10 weeks. Please allow for this processing time when you submit your application through the NMLS.
Former licensees or registrants wishing to reinstate an expired or withdrawn license or registration will need to first file for a license or registration through the NMLS without using their expired license/registration number. When submitting the checklist of supplemental information to the Department, please include a cover letter indicating the GEORGIA license/registration number and company name you wish to reinstate.
Licensing/Registration Application Forms, Code & Regulations
Applicants should also download the Georgia Code Sections and Regulations. The NMLS website lists licensing information and requirements and contains a checklist to ensure that you have submitted all required jurisdiction-specific documents to the Department. Submit your application through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS):
- Online Application - information available from and filed through NMLS
- Georgia Residential Mortgage Act (GRMA) Code Sections
- Georgia Residential Mortgage Act (GRMA) Rules & Regulations
NMLS Jurisdiction Specific Documents (Adobe PDF file):
NOTE: The documents below are included within the applicable checklist and document instruction forms in NMLS and must be submitted outside of the NMLS.
- Background Check Form
Licensees should download Background Check - Employer Form for use in conducting background checks on potential employees.
- Surety Bond Form (Brokers/Lenders)
- Bonding Company List (Surety Companies)
- Branch Questionnaire Form
- Employee Background Check Form
- ID/Photo Page
- Sample Grievance Policy
- IRS-Form 4506 T
- Verification of Lawful Presence within the US
- Signature & Oath Page-Company or Individual
- Broker Education / Experience Requirements
- Changes in Management - File for approval prior to placement;
- Change in Business Structure - (generally involves change in control or new EIN);
- Establishment of a new in-state Georgia Branch Office & Manager - Prior approval & fee payment required;
- Change in approved Branch location's Manager - File for approval within 15 days of placement;
- Material change in the financial statement - File notice within 30 days of change;
- Main office or an approved branch relocation - File notice within 30 days of change;
- Mailing address change;
- Closing of a branch office;
- Changes in company contact information (company or complaint contact);
- Changes in registered agent;
- D/B/A changes or additions;
- Pending Application(s) - Status
NOTE: If you are applying for a NEW branch physically located in Georgia, or are changing the branch manager along with the change in address for the branch, a separate application for approval must be made for that new branch location and/or new branch manager. Such applications must be made through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS).
Please DO NOT enter branches that are not physically located within the State of Georgia into the NMLS. Out-of-state branches do not require the Department’s approval and SHOULD NOT be entered into NMLS.
Other Applications filed outside of NMLS: Management, Ownership, Other Notices (Adobe PDF file):
FINGERPRINT PROCESSING - "GAPS"
Fingerprint processing is available statewide through the Georgia Applicant Processing Services (GAPS). License and registration applicants who need to provide the Department with fingerprints for owners, officers and control persons, or for employees who may require the submission of fingerprint cards as a result of incomplete or questionable background check processing may now use the GAPS service. Out-of-state applicants without access to a Georgia GAPS location may still request fingerprint cards for submission directly to the Department. In-State applicants should use a GAPS location if possible. For more information and instructions, click on the GAPS links below. The GAPS form is a Word document for completion and return to the Department. On-line requests for hardcopy cards will be handled generally on the next business day.
ON-LINE REQUESTS, REPORTING AND PAYMENTS WITH THE DEPARTMENT:
For our secure websites, please be sure that you accept the security certificate when prompted. Most of our payment sites perform better using the Mozilla Firefox browser. If you use Internet Explorer, please ensure that you have version 7.0 or higher.
The following options allow licensees and/or applicants to request fingerprint cards or make fee/fine payments online.
MORTGAGE CALL REPORT REQUIREMENTS:
Companies must file a quarterly Mortgage Call Report through the NMLS. There are two components of the MCR filing - the Residential Mortgage Loan Activity (RMLA) and the Financial Condition (FC).
Companies that qualify for the Standard MCR filing:
RMLA is due quarterly, within 45 days of the end of every calendar quarter
FC – Due annually, within 90 days of your company’s Fiscal Year End
Companies that must submit the Expanded MCR filing*:
Both RMLA and FC components must be submitted quarterly, within 45 days of the end of every calendar quarter
* Companies that a a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac Seller/Service or a Ginnie Mae Issuer submit an Expanded Mortgage Call Report.
Companies that fail to file quarterly MCRs prior to the deadline will be assessed a fine and may subject their Georgia license to revocation. Any outstanding fines owed to the Department must be paid through its secure website at: https://bkgfin.dbf.state.ga.us/MtgFinePay.html.
Read more about the MCR requirements on the NMLS website at: http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/mcr/Pages/default.aspx
Mortgage licensees and registrants who have a current and valid license/registration may use the button/link above to access a secure site for retrieving and printing their 2013 license or registration certificate. You will receive your login information via e-mail from the Department after your renewal or new license has been approved. If you have forgotten your password, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org and request login information for accessing our secure website.
After a successful login, please be sure to click on the link to open the printing instructions to ensure the best quality printing of your certificate.
License Period January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013
The Annual License/Registration Renewal Period for 2013 has ended. A licensee/registrant that has a complete renewal application (i.e., renewal application filed, and all fines and renewal fees paid) pending through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry as of December 31, 2012, can continue to work as a mortgage loan originator, mortgage broker or mortgage lender unless and until there is a surrender/withdrawal of the license/registration or a final order of revocation is issued by the Department.
If a mortgage licensee/registrant did not file an application for renewal by December 31, 2012, the license/registration expired by operation of law effective January 1, 2013, and the licensee/registrant must reapply through the NMLSR.
Licensees whose 2013 renewal submissions are approved will receive an e-mail from the Department that includes information for logging on to a secure website to retrieve and print their 2013 license certificates. E-mail notifications/instructions are sent to the licensee’s primary contact as listed in the NMLS.