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2016 License/Registration Period Has Ended

The Annual License/Registration Renewal Period for 2016 has ended. A licensee/
registrant that has a complete renewal application (i.e., renewal application filed, and all
fines and renewal fees paid) pending through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing
System as of December 31, 2015, can continue to work as a mortgage loan originator,
mortgage broker or mortgage lender unless and until there is a surrender/withdrawal of
the license/registration or a final order of denial or revocation is issued by the
Department.

If a mortgage licensee/registrant did not file an application for renewal by December 31,
2015, the license/registration expired by operation of law effective January 1, 2016, and
the licensee/registrant must reapply through the NMLS. Renewal applicants with
incomplete applications (e.g., unpaid fines or fees) will be expired during the month of
January 2016. Broker and Lender licensees in an expired status may not conduct
Georgia mortgage activity. Mortgage Loan Originators in an expired status may not
conduct origination activity for Georgia loans.

RENEWAL REQUEST PENDING
— COMPANIES AND INDIVIDUALS —

Does your license have a renewal request pending? If so, please check your NMLS record
for any deficiencies or license items placed by the Department. No renewal request will be
approved with outstanding license items. Many licensees that have not yet been approved
owe fines and fees — check your NMLS record to see if your renewal is being delayed due
to unpaid fines and fees.

Fines and fees must be paid through the NMLS Agency Fee Invoice

Please see the following links for information on how to pay the Agency Fee Invoice in
NMLS.

For an Individual:

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/
Paying%20an%20Invoice_|.pdf

For a Company:
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/
Paying%20an%20Invoice C.pdf



http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/renewals/Pages/default.aspx?state=GA
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/renewals/Pages/default.aspx?state=GA
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Paying%20an%20Invoice_I.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Paying%20an%20Invoice_I.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Paying%20an%20Invoice_C.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Paying%20an%20Invoice_C.pdf
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Georgia Residential Mortgage Act Fee (“GRMA”)
Reporting and Payment Process

GRMA Per Loan Fees - The $10.00 per loan fees To avoid fines for failure to remit GRMA fees when
required by O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1011(b)(2) and due, reporting and payment must be completed online
Department Rule 80-5-1-.04 are due no later than at https://bkgfin.dbf.state.ga.us/GRMAFee.html by the
March 1, 2016, for mortgage loans closed during the deadlines established in Rule 80-5-1-.04. Refer to the
period July 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015. Department’s Frequently Asked Questions document
for further information about GRMA $10.00 per loan
On December 29, 2015, the Department sent an e- fees reporting and remittance requirements.
mail reminder notice to the contact person that
submitted the prior semi-annual report through the Collecting agents submitting GRMA Fees after the due
Department’s online reporting and payment site. For date referenced above or for prior semiannual periods
state-chartered institutions and Georgia mortgage must complete and mail a paper form, along with their
licensees, the Department also sent a similar payment, to the Department. The fillable PDF form
notification to the primary institution/licensee contact. can be downloaded from https://bkgdfin.dbf.state.ga.us/

MortgageDocs/GRMAFeeStatement.pdf.

Mortgage Call Report Reminder

This is a reminder that the Mortgage Call Report Failure to file a timely MCR will also delay the
required by O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1004.1 is due within 45 days processing of your renewal application.
of the end of every calendar quarter. Fourth quarter

data (October 1 — December 31, 2015) must be filed For more information about the requirements

through the NMLSR by February 14, 2016. surrounding the MCR, please refer to the NMLSR
website at:

Companies that fail to file quarterly MCRs prior to the http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/

deadline will be assessed a fine and may subject their common/mcr/Pages/default.aspx

Georgia license to revocation.

COMMONLY USED ACRONYMS

CE — Continuing Education MLO — Mortgage Loan Originator

Department — Georgia Department of Banking and NMLS or NMLSR — Nationwide Mortgage Licensing
Finance System & Registry

GRMA — Georgia Residential Mortgage Act 0.C.G.A. — Official Code of Georgia Annotated
MCR — Mortgage Call Report



file:///D:/Users/carol/Documents/AddressList_files
http://dbf.georgia.gov/documents/grma-10-loan-fees-frequently-asked-questions
https://bkgfin.dbf.state.ga.us/MortgageDocs/GRMAFeeStatement.pdf
https://bkgfin.dbf.state.ga.us/MortgageDocs/GRMAFeeStatement.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/mcr/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/mcr/Pages/default.aspx
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Fine Summary Information

FINE REASON COUNT
Advertising 1
Background Checks 1
Continuing Education data filed late 218
Doing business w/ unlicensed entity 1
Failure to report violations/discharges 1
Failure to Update NMLS 1
GRMA fees paid late 5
Renewal Filed Late 932
Grand Total 1,160




Georgia Department of
Banking and Finance

2990 Brandywine Road
Suite 200
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-5565

Phone: (770) 986-1269
Fax: (770) 986-1029 or 1655

Email:
dbfmort@dbf.state.ga.us

Visit us on the Web:

dbf.georgia.gov

The Department is the state agency that regulates and examines Georgia state-
chartered banks, state-chartered credit unions, and state-chartered trust companies.
The Department also has responsibility for the supervision, regulation, and
examination of Merchant Acquirer Limited Purpose Banks (MALPBs) chartered in
Georgia.

In addition, the Department has regulatory and/or licensing authority over mortgage
brokers, lenders and processors, mortgage loan originators, check cashers, sellers-
issuers of payment instruments, money transmitters, international banking
organizations, and bank holding companies conducting business in Georgia.

Our Mission is to promote safe, sound, competitive financial services in Georgia
through innovative, responsive regulation and supervision.

Our Vision is to be a willing and able partner with our regulated entities in
order to support vibrant and economic growth and prosperity in Georgia.

mﬂi Resource Center

Sign-up to Receive this Publication

This monthly publication highlights topics and
activities pertaining to the Department’s regulation of
state-licensed or registered mortgage brokers,
lenders and loan originators. It is delivered to
interested parties via e-mail and is also available
from the Department’s website at: http://
dbf.georgia.gov under Publications, Mortgage
Summary.

If you would like to be added to our distribution list,
send an e-mail to dbfpress@dbf.state.ga.us stating
your name and e-mail address. Please be sure to include “Subscribe to Monthly Mortgage
Summary”



mailto:dbfmort@dbf.state.ga.us
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/Pages/DynamicLicenses.aspx?StateID=GA

