Licensees, registrants, and applicants for a mortgage broker/processor license must have and maintain a surety bond in a form and terms acceptable and payable to the Department in the amount of $50,000.
Licensees, registrants, and applicants for a mortgage lender license must have and maintain a surety bond in a form and terms acceptable and payable to the Department in the amount of $150,000.
Electronic Surety Bonds (ESB)
Electronic surety bonds (ESB) for mortgage company license/registration types will be available in NMLS starting January 23, 2017.
New company license applications submitted after January 23, 2017 will be required to meet all surety bond requirements by completing the electronic surety bond process. See the ESB Adoption Map and Table for more information.
Companies are required to convert their existing surety bond to NMLS via the submission of an ESB by December 31, 2017. See the GA ESB Conversion Plan for more information.
What is a surety bond and why do I need to have one?
A surety bond is a three-party instrument between a surety (insurance company), the licensee, and the Department. The agreement binds the licensee to comply with the terms and conditions of the laws and regulations concerning the issuance of their license. If the licensee is unable to successfully meet those requirements, the surety assumes certain monetary obligations required for performance under that surety bond for the licensee, and ensures that the obligations are met. Such obligations may be those owed to qualifying consumers, other creditors, or the Department.
Can the Department return my bond?
The Department cannot return a bond to a licensee or its surety. The Department, however, will return a bond of a license applicant if the application were never approved.
Can the Department release the Surety from liability?
The Department cannot execute a general release that discharges a surety from any past, present or future liability under a bond.
The list of companies which offer mortgage surety bonds in Georgia is available on our website. Please note that the Department does not recommend any particular company, but provides the list as a convenience to applicants and licensees. Also remember to check with the Office of the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner to see if any insurer you are considering is authorized to do business in Georgia.