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As of July 1, 2020, regulation and enforcement of the Georgia Installment Loan Act (the “Act”) 

was transferred to the Department of Banking and Finance (“Department”).  O.C.G.A. § 7-3-2.  

Generally, any entity making loans of $3,000.00 or less to individuals must be licensed with the 

Department as an installment lender unless the entity falls into a specified exemption.  See e.g., 

O.C.G.A. § 7-3-4.  Licensees may offer installment loans for up to 36 months and 15 days, may

charge interest at a rate not to exceed 10 percent per annum of the face amount of the contract,

and may charge other fees as allowed by the Act.  O.C.G.A. § 7-3-11.

However, payday lending is illegal in Georgia.  O.C.G.A. § 16-17-1 et seq.  O.C.G.A. § 16-17-

2(a) provides that it is unlawful for a person to “engage in any business in whatever form 

transacted, including, but not limited to, by mail, electronic means, the Internet, or telephonic 

means, which consists in whole or in part of making, offering, arranging, or acting as an agent in 

the making of loans of $3,000.00 or less” unless the person falls into a specified exemption.  

Installment lenders licensed pursuant to the Act are exempt from these criminal provisions.     

The Department has received complaints indicating that Georgia consumers have been offered 

loans of less than $3,000.00 from entities that are not licensed by the Department and do not 

appear to satisfy an exemption from licensure.  Additionally, these complaints often indicate that 

the interest rate charged by these unlicensed entities is well in excess of the 10 percent rate 

allowed by the Act.  Many of the unlicensed entities offering these loans are located outside of 

the United States, in other states, or claim to be owned by Native American tribes.  The fact that 

these entities are outside of the borders of Georgia does not excuse non-compliance with Georgia 

law.  Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 7-3-50, any loan for under $3,000.00 that is made by an entity 

which is required to be licensed by the Act but who is not licensed is void.  Further, in many 

instances, these loans will be considered payday loans.  Entities that make payday loans are 

prohibited from the collection of indebtedness created by these loans.  O.C.G.A. § 16-17-3.  This 

means that an unlicensed entity making payday loans has no right to collect, receive, or retain 

any principal, finance charges, or other fees in connection with such loans.  O.C.G.A. § 16-17-3 

further provides that entities that violate O.C.G.A. § 16-17-2 may be liable in a civil action 

brought by a borrower. 

Borrowers who believe that they have received loans from unlicensed entities or payday loans 

should contact an attorney or contact the lender directly to resolve the issue.  The Department 



cannot offer individuals legal advice on how to proceed and cannot intervene in disputes between 

consumers and entities.  

However, the Department may use any information provided by consumers in the regulatory 

process.  To file a complaint against an unlicensed installment lender engaging in transactions 

with Georgia consumers, please contact the Department directly at 

NDFIDivision@dbf.state.ga.us.  In addition, borrowers with concerns regarding unlicensed 

installment lenders or payday lending should also file a complaint with the Consumer Financial 

Protection Bureau at www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/.  

To find out if an installment lender is licensed in Georgia, consumers may visit the NMLS 

Consumer Access Portal at https://nmlsconsumeraccess.org/ and enter the name of the licensee. 
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