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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING 

AND 

OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT 

 

PROPOSED ENACTMENT OF RULES AND REGULATIONS 

BY 

DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND FINANCE 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
 

To all interested persons: 

 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Georgia Administrative Procedure Act, O.C.G.A. § 50-13-1 et 

seq., and by the authority of O.C.G.A. §§ 7-1-61, 7-1-690, 7-1-706.1, 7-1-1012 and other cited 

statutes, the Department of Banking and Finance hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt new 

rules. 

 

A synopsis and purpose precedes the proposed rules. 

 

Comments to the Department of Banking and Finance must be received by the close of business 

on Thursday, August 28, 2014.  Please send all comments to: 

 

  Kevin B. Hagler, Commissioner 

  Georgia Department of Banking and Finance 

  2990 Brandywine Road, Suite 200 

  Atlanta, GA  30341-5565  

 

 Fax: (770) 986-1654 or 1655 

 Email: dbf@dbf.state.ga.us  

 

The Department shall review all comments, may contact commenters to discuss their 

suggestions, and, after the comment period has closed, intends on promulgating final rules.  The 

Department will consider the proposed new rules for adoption at a meeting at 1:00 p.m. on 

Friday, August 29, 2014, at the offices of the Department of Banking and Finance at Suite 200, 

2990 Brandywine Road, Atlanta, Georgia 30341.  Notice and a copy of the final rules adopted 

will be e-mailed to persons who have made a special request, and will be made available on our 

website at http://dbf.georgia.gov/.  Other interested parties may receive a copy of the final rules 

by contacting the Department at (770) 986-1633, after Friday, August 29, 2014. 

  

mailto:dbf@dbf.state.ga.us
http://dbf.georgia.gov/
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2014 Rules and Regulations 

Proposed Changes:   Synopsis, Purpose and Background 

 

80-1-5-.01 Loans Generally, Interpretations and Rulings.  

 

Proposed paragraph (13) provides that for legal lending limit purposes a loan to a lessor will be 

considered a loan to a lessee if certain conditions are satisfied.   

 

80-1-12-.01 Dividends. 

 

The proposed amendment eliminates the distinction between cash and property dividends as it 

relates to not obtaining Department approval or providing the Department with notice prior to the 

distribution of dividends under certain circumstances.  

 

 

80-5-1-.02 License and Supervision Fees for Check Cashers, Payment Instrument Sellers, 

Money Transmitters, Representative Offices and Mortgage Lenders and Brokers; Due 

Dates. 

 

Proposed paragraphs (1)(a) and (b) reduce the license and renewal fees for payment instrument 

sellers to $1,900 and for money transmitters to $900.  Proposed paragraphs (2)(a) through (2)(c) 

reduce the license and renewal fees to $300 for check cashers.  Proposed paragraph (2)(d) 

reduces the fee for additional locations for check cashers to $30 per location.  The reason for the 

reduction in these fees is that the Department has determined that as part of the transition to the 

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (“NMLSR”), money service business 

licensees will be billed $100 directly by NMLSR.  In addition, the Department has determined 

that check casher licensees will be billed $20 directly by NMLSR for each branch location.   

 

80-10-1-.02 Format for Retaining Records and EDP Processing. 

 

The proposed revision to the rule clarifies that financial institutions may retain records 

electronically.  The proposed revision also provides that records must be maintained in such a 

manner so that they are readily accessible.    

 

80-11-5-.05 Administrative Fines. 

 

The proposed paragraph (4)(k) imposes a fine for the failure of a mortgage loan originator to 

report certain events required by statute to be reported to the Department.   

 

 
 



PROPOSED RULES 

 

CHAPTER 80-1-5 

LOANS AND DISCOUNTS 

  TABLE OF CONTENTS 

80-1-5-.01    Loans Generally, Interpretations and Rulings.  

80-1-5-.01  Loans Generally, Interpretations and Rulings. 

(1) “Indirect” loans as used in Code Section 7-1-285 shall mean loans made for the 

substantial benefit of a third party where repayment of the loan is dependent on activities of the 

third party rather than solely dependent on the resources of the borrower and subject to the 

provisions of Rule 80-1-5-.11. 

(2) Loans extended to any Industrial Development Authority domiciled in Georgia which are 

dependent upon revenues obtained under an assigned lease contract naming the Authority as 

lessor shall be considered as loans to the lessee in calculating legal loan limitations. 

(3) Loans by a bank to any wholly-owned subsidiary of the bank, which subsidiary is located 

within an approved office of the bank and which has agreed to abide by all laws, rules and 

regulations applicable to the bank shall be exempt from the twenty-five (25) percent maximum 

lending limit of the bank.  In addition, to the extent allowed by other applicable law and with the 

prior written approval of the Department, this exemption from the twenty-five (25) percent 

maximum lending limit may be extended to loans from a bank to a wholly owned subsidiary of 

an affiliated bank. 

(4) In determining amounts loaned, all amounts guaranteed or insured by any instrumentality 

of the United States government shall be deducted to the extent of the guaranty or insurance 

coverage.  Immediate and deferred participations on loans by an instrumentality of the United 

States government shall also be excluded.  Where the source of repayment of a loan, i.e. lease 

payments, is guaranteed by an instrumentality of the United States government and such 

guarantee is assignable and has been assigned to the bank, such loan may be excluded to the 

extent of the guarantee. 

(5) In determining whether or not a loan in excess of the fifteen (15) percent limitation is 

secured by “good collateral and other ample security,” the lack of a perfected lien, inadequate 

insurance, required margins between collateral value and the amount of the loan shall be prima 

facie evidence of inadequate security to the debt.  Loans secured by endorsement must be 

supported by a financial statement on the endorser, properly signed, which is not more than 

eighteen months old, if the loan is to be considered secured, and such statement must reflect 

adequate income to service the loan and unencumbered equity sufficient to protect the loan. 
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(6) A borrower's deposit accounts in the lending bank will be regarded as collateral to a loan 

when they are not subject to check or withdrawal, mature on or after the loan which is secured, 

are under the sole control of the bank, and are properly assigned.  Where, according to the terms 

of the deposit contract, the deposit is eligible for withdrawal before the secured loan matures, the 

bank must establish internal procedures to prevent release of the security without the lending 

bank’s prior consent.  If proper procedures are in place, such deposits will be considered as 

collateral.  Where deposit balances are properly taken as collateral to a loan, the loan may be 

reduced to the extent of the deposit in determining the amounts loaned for either secured or 

unsecured legal lending limitations, as applicable.  

(7) Except as provided in this paragraph, extensions of credit in the form of insufficient funds 

checks held beyond the permissible return date and overdrafts shall be considered “extensions of 

credit” included in determining compliance with the legal limitation as it applies to the maker of 

the check or owner of the overdraft.  Such extensions of credit shall also be subject to the 

requirements for prior written approval and ample collateral where the total indebtedness of the 

borrower exceeds fifteen (15) percent of the statutory capital base.  Such extensions of credit will 

not be considered extensions of credit for purposes of compliance with the above legal loan 

limitations and requirements, provided that the extension is inadvertent, which requires that: 

(a) The extension(s) do not exceed the aggregate amount of $1,000 at any one time; and 

(b) The account is not overdrawn or the insufficient funds check held for more than five (5) 

business days. 

(8) Wherever approval of the Board of Directors or Loan Committee is required, such 

approval must be specific, prior, written approval of each extension of credit, except that 

advances made under a master note covering a specific purpose or project need not receive 

specific approval where such approval was accorded the master note.  Annual approval of a line 

of credit may be used where interest rate, repayment terms, and anticipated collateral are clearly 

identified and current credit information is on file.  Commodity, floor-plan and discount lines of 

credit which are anticipated to exceed fifteen (15) percent of the statutory capital base may be 

approved annually to be deemed appropriate by the Board of Directors without each transaction 

receiving specific prior approval.  When in excess of twenty-five (25) percent of the statutory 

capital base, the line must be reviewed quarterly by the Board of Directors or Loan Committee. 

(9) In determining the primary collateral basis upon which a loan is granted, that portion of 

the collateral having the greatest market value shall be assumed to be the primary collateral and 

the credit worthiness of the individual and of endorsers shall not be considered in determining 

conformity with the law unless proper, current, financial information is in file on the borrower or 

endorser. 
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(10) In determining amounts loaned to “any person, firm or corporation,” amounts acquired 

as a result of purchasing accounts receivable from a third party (factoring) shall not be 

considered; provided, the aggregate debt of the obligor including factored accounts shall not 

exceed thirty-five (35) percent of the bank's statutory capital base. 

(11) Extensions of credit to political subdivisions of the State of Georgia authorized to levy 

taxes or backed by the taxing authority of another political subdivision shall qualify for 

exemption from the twenty-five (25) percent loan limitation under the provisions of Code 

Section 7-1-285, subparagraph (c)(4)(B), only where such extension of credit otherwise 

conforms with the provisions of Georgia Constitution, Article 9, Section 5. 

(12) Where the “statutory capital base” as defined in Section 7-1-4(35) is reduced by 

operating losses, loan losses, or for other reasons, existing debt which was in conformity with the 

legal limitations at the time it originated shall not be construed to be non-conforming with new 

legal limitations resulting from the reduced statutory capital base. 

(13) Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 7-1-285(e), a loan or extension of credit to a leasing company 

for the purpose of purchasing equipment for lease shall be considered a loan to the lessee, 

provided that: 

(a) The bank documents the basis for its reliance on the lessee as the primary source of 

repayment before the loan is extended to the leasing company; 

(b) The loan is made without recourse to the leasing company;  

(c) The bank receives a security interest in the equipment and, in the event of default, may 

proceed directly against the equipment and the lessee for any deficiency resulting from the sale 

of the equipment; 

(d) The leasing company assigns all of its rights under the lease to the bank; 

(e) The lessee’s lease payments are assigned and paid to the bank directly by the lessee; and 

(f) The lease terms are subject to the same limitations that would apply to a bank acting as a 

lessor. 

Authority Ga. L. 1974, pp. 733, 790-797; Ga. L. 1983, Act No. 255, effective March 16, 1983. 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

CHAPTER 80-1-12 

DIVIDENDS, MANAGEMENT FEES, ETC. 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

80-1-12-.01 Dividends 
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80-1-12-.01  Dividends 

 (1) The Board of Directors of any state-chartered bank in this State may declare and the bank 

may pay cash dividends on its outstanding capital stock without any requirement to notify the 

Department or request the approval of the Department under the following conditions: 

 (a) Total classified assets at the most recent examination of the bank, the conclusions of which 

may have been presented to the Board of Directors, do not exceed eighty (80) percent of Tier 1 

Capital plus the Allowance for Loan Losses as reflected at such examination; and 

 (b) The aggregate amount of dividends declared or anticipated to be declared in the calendar 

year does not exceed fifty (50) percent of the net profits, after taxes but before dividends, for the 

previous calendar year, provided, however, a bank that files federal income taxes as a Subchapter 

S-Corporation may pay an additional amount of dividends without Department approval 

equivalent to fifty (50) percent of the income taxes which the bank would have had to pay in the 

prior year as a Subchapter C-Corporation; and 

 (c) The ratio of Tier 1 Capital to Adjusted Total Assets shall not be less than six (6) percent. 

 (2) Any dividend to be declared by the Board of Directors of a bank at a time when each of 

the foregoing conditions does not exist must be approved, in writing, by the Department prior to 

the payment thereof pursuant to the provisions of Section 7-1-460(a)(3) of the Code of Georgia. 

Requests for approval of dividends shall be on forms prescribed by the Department. 

 (3) The definition of Tier 1 Capital and Adjusted Total Assets as used herein shall be 

consistent with the definition contained in the Statement of Policies of the Department and the 

definition utilized by the Federal Regulatory Agencies. 

Authority Ga. L. 1974, pp. 853-855. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

   

CHAPTER 80-5-1 

SUPERVISION, EXAMINATION, REGISTRATION AND INVESTIGATION FEES, 

ADMINISTRATIVE LATE FEES 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

80-5-1-.02 License and Supervision Fees for Check Cashers, Payment Instrument Sellers, Money Transmitters, 

Representative Offices and Mortgage Lenders and Brokers; Due Dates. 

80-5-1-.02  License and Supervision Fees for Check Cashers, Payment Instrument Sellers, 

Money Transmitters, Representative Offices and Mortgage Lenders and Brokers; Due 

Dates. 
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 (1) Payment instrument sellers and money transmitters. 

(a) The annual license fee is two one thousand nine hundred dollars ($2,01,900) for payment 

instrument sellers and one thousandnine hundred dollars ($91,000) for money transmitters. 

(b) The annual renewal license fee is two one thousand nine hundred dollars ($1,92,000) for 

payment instrument sellers and one thousandnine hundred dollars ($1,0900) for money 

transmitters and shall be due and must be received by the Department on or before the first day 

of December of each year. Where the person or corporation engages in both the sale of payment 

instruments and money transmission, the higher of the two fees shall be due and payable.  A 

licensee whose renewal application and annual license renewal fee is not received by the 

Department on or before December 1 will be assessed a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300) 

and cannot be assured of renewal of its license prior to January 1. 

(c) An additional non-refundable application investigation fee of two hundred fifty dollars 

($250) will be assessed.  

(d) Applicants for Department approval of a change in ownership, change in control, or 

change in executive officer as set forth in O.C.G.A. § 7-1-688 shall pay a nonrefundable 

investigation, application, and processing fee of five hundred dollars ($500).  

(2) Check Cashers. 

(a) The annual license fee is four three hundred dollars ($400300). 

(b) The annual renewal license fee is four three hundred dollars ($400300). 

(c) An initial investigation and supervision fee shall be six five hundred fifty dollars 

($650550) for the first year.  It is not refundable, but if the license is granted it shall satisfy the 

annual fee for the first license period. 

(d) Initial and renewal license fees shall also include an additional fifty thirty dollars ($5030) 

for the second and each additional location, plus a fee in an amount as directed by the 

Department to cover the cost of the required number of fingerprints for each individual 

background check. 

(e) Annual renewal license fees shall be due and must be received by the Department on or 

before the first day of December of each year.  A licensee whose renewal application and annual 

renewal license fee is not received by the Department on or before the first day of December of 

each year will be assessed a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300) and cannot be assured of 

renewal of its license prior to January 1.   

(f)   Applicants for Department approval of a change in ownership, change in control, or 

change in executive officer as set forth in O.C.G.A. § 7-1-705.1 shall pay a nonrefundable 

investigation, application, and processing fee of five hundred dollars ($500). 

(g)   Any person that was registered with the Department as a casher of checks prior to June 

30, 2014 shall be deemed to be a licensee and not a registrant effective July 1, 2014.  Effective 

July 1, 2014, all former registrants shall comply with all laws and regulations governing 

licensees.  Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 7-1-704, such license shall expire on December 31, 2014.   



6 
 

(h) Any person that, as of the effective date of this rule, was licensed by the Department or 

registered with the Department as a casher of checks for all or part of the period from October 1, 

2013 through September 30, 2014 shall have its license extended through December 31, 2014.  

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 7-1-704, such license shall expire on December 31, 2014. 

(3) Registrants of representative offices, trust production offices, business production offices, 

and loan production offices shall file a registration statement, as prescribed by the Department, 

and shall pay a registration fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) on or before January 31 of 

each year.  Such fee is intended to cover the costs of responding to questions or complaints from 

consumers with regard to these entities doing business in Georgia and is in lieu of registration 

under O.C.G.A. § 16-14-15, as provided in O.C.G.A. § 7-1-11.  Registrants of international bank 

representative offices shall pay a registration fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000).  Each bank 

holding company registered with the Department shall pay on or before January 31 of each year 

an annual registration fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000).  Each bank holding company 

registered with the Department must pay five hundred dollars ($500) for each additional Georgia 

subsidiary corporation in those categories, provided, however, any registrant required to register 

and pay a fee by another paragraph of this chapter shall only be required to pay one fee which 

shall be the higher fee. 

(4) Mortgage licensees and registrants. 

(a) Lenders.  The initial and renewal application and license fee for mortgage lenders shall be 

one thousand dollars ($1,000).  The initial one thousand dollars ($1,000) fee covers the main 

office.  Any branch offices included in the initial application shall be assessed a fee of three 

hundred fifty dollars ($350) each.  A fee of three hundred fifty dollars ($350) will be assessed for 

each additional office not initially registered, if such office is located in Georgia, and if mortgage 

lending activity is conducted at the office.  An initial investigation fee of two hundred fifty 

dollars ($250) per applicant shall also apply.  Subsequent renewal applications and license fees 

plus a twenty dollar ($20) fee for each approved branch office located in Georgia, must be 

received on or before December 1 of each year or the applicant will be assessed a late fee of 

three hundred dollars ($300).  A renewal application and license fee not received on or before the 

December 1 renewal application deadline of each year cannot be assured of issuance or renewal 

prior to January 1, at which time the license or registration will expire. Applicants may not 

conduct a mortgage business without a current license or registration. 

(b) Brokers.  The initial and renewal application and license fee for mortgage brokers shall be 

five hundred dollars ($500).  The initial five hundred dollar ($500) fee covers the main office. 

Any branch offices located in Georgia shall be assessed a fee of three hundred fifty ($350) each. 

Brokers include loan processors.  Processors are defined in Rule 80-11-4-.07.  Such a processor 

may have a separate main office and other branch offices where mortgage loan processing is 

done.  The offices will be treated the same as brokers’ offices.  An initial investigation fee of two 

hundred fifty dollars ($250) per applicant shall also apply.  Subsequent renewal applications and 

license fees must be received on or before December 1 of each year or the applicant will be 

assessed a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300).  A renewal application and license fee, plus a 

twenty dollar ($20) fee for each approved branch office located in Georgia, that is not received 

on or before the December 1 renewal application deadline of each year cannot be assured of 

issuance or renewal prior to January 1, at which time the license or registration will expire.  

Applicants may not conduct a mortgage business without a current license or registration. 
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(c) Mortgage Loan Originators.  The initial and renewal application and license fee for 

mortgage loan originators shall be one hundred dollars ($100).  Subsequent renewal application 

fees must be received by the Department on or before December 1 of each year or the applicant 

will be assessed a late fee of one hundred dollars ($100).  A renewal application is not deemed 

received until all required information, including a renewal fee in the appropriate amount and 

documentation showing that the requisite continuing education hours have been obtained, has 

been provided by the licensee.  A renewal application, containing all of the required information 

along with the correct fees and proof of required continuing education that is not received by the 

Department on or before the December 1 renewal application deadline of each year cannot be 

assured of issuance or renewal prior to January 1, at which time the license or registration will 

expire.  Effective August 1, 2010, applicants may not conduct mortgage loan origination activity 

without a current license. 

(d) Lender Registrants.  The initial and renewal application and registration fee for mortgage 

lenders required to register but not be licensed with the Department shall be one thousand dollars 

($1,000), due on or before December 1 of each year.  An initial investigation fee of two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250) per applicant shall also apply.  Subsequent renewal applications and 

registration fees must be received on or before December 1 of each year or the applicant will be 

assessed a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300).  A renewal application and registration fee 

not received on or before the December 1 renewal application deadline of each year cannot be 

assured of issuance or renewal prior to January 1, at which time the license or registration will 

expire.  Applicants may not conduct a mortgage business without a current license or 

registration. 

(e) Broker Registrants.  The initial and renewal application and registration fee for mortgage 

brokers required to register but not be licensed with the Department shall be five hundred dollars 

($500), due on or before December 1 of each year. An initial investigation fee of two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250) per applicant shall also apply.  Subsequent renewal applications and 

registration fees must be received on or before December 1 of each year or the applicant will be 

assessed a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300).  A renewal application and registration fee 

not received on or before the December 1 renewal application deadline of each year cannot be 

assured of issuance or renewal prior to January 1, at which time the license or registration will 

expire.  Applicants may not conduct a mortgage business without a current license or 

registration.  

(f) All license, investigation, registration, and supervision fees, late fees and assessed civil 

penalties must be paid prior to renewal of the annual license or registration, reinstatement of a 

license or registration, reapplication for a license or registration or any other approval from the 

Department. 

(g) All late fees collected by the Department, net of the cost of recovery, which cost shall 

include any cost of hearing and discovery in preparation for hearing, shall be paid into the state 

treasury to the credit of the general fund or may be paid as provided in O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1018(e). 

(h) Applicants for approval to acquire directly or indirectly ten percent (10%) or more of the 

voting shares of a corporation or ten percent (10%) or more of the ownership of any other entity 

licensed to conduct business as a mortgage lender and/or a mortgage broker under O.C.G.A. 

Article 13 (otherwise called change of control) shall pay a nonrefundable investigation, 

application and processing fee of five hundred dollars ($500).  
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(i) Application for an additional office of a licensee shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable 

fee of three hundred fifty dollar ($350), as provided in O.C.G.A. §7-1-1006.  

(j) The fee for initial application for approval by the Department for a school or education 

provider shall be five hundred dollars ($500).  An application for approval will be on a form 

provided by the Department at its website.  The fee is nonrefundable.  The fee for annual renewal 

of such approval is two hundred fifty dollars ($250). 

(5) The Department may discount or surcharge all supervision or license fees herein provided 

to assure funding of annual appropriations by the General Assembly. 

Authority Ga. L. 1974, pp. 705, 732, 733, 921; Ga. L. 1976, Act 762, p. 168; 1990, p. 739; 1993, p. 543; O.C.G.A. § 

7-1-41; § 7-1-61; § 7-1-683; § 7-1-685; O.C.G.A. § 7-1-702; O.C.G.A. § 7-1-704; O.C.G.A. § 7-1-716; O.C.G.A. § 

7-1-721; § 7-1-1001.1; and § 7-1-1005. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

CHAPTER 80-10-1 

RECORDS RETENTION 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

80-10-1-.02 Effects of MicrofilmFormat for Retaining Records and EDP Processing. 

80-10-1-.02  Effects of MicrofilmFormat for Retaining Records and EDP Processing. 

  (1) Consistent with applicable laws, All records may be microfilmed, 

photographedmaintained in the following formats: original, microfilm, electronic, photocopy, or 

retained by other storage techniques capable of being used to reproduce the data contained in the 

records into legible form.   and Tthe retention of records via the resultant medium for the periods 

of time designated in the applicable regulations shall be considered as complying with theis 

regulations and the law.  Notwithstanding this discretion, records must be maintained in a format 

that makes them readily accessible in a reasonable period of time.  

 

 (2) Electronic Data Processing operations are considered merely as extensions of the 

bookkeeping mechanics and shall not alter the retention requirements of the regulation.  Print-

outs of EDP records which provide essentially the same information as the conventional records 

listed herein may be retained in lieu of the records listed. 

Authority Ga. L. 1974, p. 733. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR LICENSURE AND OTHER 

REQUIREMENTS 
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CHAPTER 80-11-5 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

80-11-5-.05 Administrative Fines. 

     80-11-5-.05 Administrative Fines.   

 

     (1) The Department establishes the following fines and penalties for violation by mortgage 

loan originators of the Georgia Residential Mortgage Act ("GRMA") or its rules. The 

Department, in its sole discretion, may waive or modify any fine based upon the gravity of the 

violation, history of previous violations, and such other facts and circumstances as have 

contributed to the violation. 

 

     (2) All fines levied by the Department are due within thirty (30) days from date of assessment 

and must be paid prior to renewal of the annual license or registration, reinstatement of a license 

or registration, or reapplication for a license or registration, or any other activity requiring 

Departmental approval. 

 

     (3) All fines collected by the Department shall be paid into the state treasury to the credit of 

the general fund. 

 

     (4) The following fines shall be assessed for violations of GRMA and Department rules: 

 

     (a) Dealing with Unlicensed Persons. A mortgage loan originator that purchases, sells, places 

for processing or transfers (or performs activities which are the equivalent thereof) a mortgage 

loan or loan application to or from a person who is required to be but is not duly licensed under 

GRMA shall be subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) per transaction and his or her 

license shall be subject to suspension or revocation. 

 

     (b) Unapproved Location. A mortgage loan originator that operates from a location in 

Georgia other than a required approved location on record with the Department shall be subject 

to a fine of five hundred dollars ($ 500) per unapproved location operated and his or her license 

may be subject to revocation or suspension. 

 

     (c) Doing Business Without a License or in Violation of Administrative Order. Any person 

who acts as a mortgage loan originator prior to receiving a current license or registration required 

under GRMA, or during the time a suspension, revocation or applicable cease and desist order is 

in effect, shall be subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) per transaction and the 

mortgage loan originator's application will be subject to denial or his or her license or 

registration will be subject to revocation or suspension. 
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     (d) Books and Records Violations. If the Department, in the course of an examination or 

investigation, finds that a mortgage loan originator licensee or registrant has failed to maintain 

his or her books and records according to the requirements of Rule 80-11-5-.02, such licensee or 

registrant may be subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) for each violation of a books 

and records found to occur. 

 

     (e) Prohibited Acts. Any person who is required to be licensed under O.C.G.A. Title 7, Article 

13 as a mortgage loan originator who violates the provisions of O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1013 shall be 

subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) per violation or transaction that is in violation 

and his or her license shall be subject to suspension or revocation. 

 

     (f) Education Requirements. A mortgage loan originator who fails to meet the requirement 

that he or she timely obtain the type and number of continuing education hours each year as 

required shall be fined one hundred dollars ($ 100). 

 

     (g) Advertising. A mortgage loan originator that is required to be licensed who violates the 

regulations relative to advertising contained in O.C.G.A. §§ 7-1-1004.3 and 7-1-1016 or the 

advertising requirements of the Department shall be subject to a fine of five hundred dollars ($ 

500) for each violation of law or rule. 

 

     (h) Failure to Submit to Examination or Investigation. The penalty for refusal to permit an 

investigation or examination of books, accounts and records (after a reasonable request by the 

Department) shall be revocation of the license or registration and a five thousand dollars ($ 

5,000) fine. Refusal shall be determined according to Department examination policies and 

procedures, but shall require at least two attempts to schedule an examination or investigation. 

 

     (i) Permitting an unlicensed person to use a licensed mortgage loan originator's license and 

identity. Any licensed mortgage loan originator who permits an unlicensed person to use that 

licensee's name, Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry Number or other 

identifying information for the purpose of submitting loan documents to lenders shall be subject 

to a fine of one thousand dollars ($ 1,000) per occurrence, and the license of the mortgage loan 

originator shall be subject to revocation. 

 

     (j) Failure to Timely Update Information on the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and 

Registry.  Any licensed mortgage loan originator that fails to update his or her information on the 

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System Registry (“NMLSR”) including, but not limited to, 

amendments to any responses to disclosure questions on an application or a licensee’s NMLSR 

MU-4, within ten (10) business days of the date of the event necessitating the change, shall be 

subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) per occurrence. 
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 (k) Failure to Timely Report Certain Events.  Any licensed mortgage loan originator that fails 

to report any of the events enumerated in O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1007(d) within ten (10) days of 

obtaining knowledge about the underlying events, shall be subject to a fine of one thousand 

dollars ($1,000) per occurrence. 

 

Authority O.C.G.A. Sec. 7-1-1018. 
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