Georgia State-Chartered Banks and Credit Unions Closure Procedures
In light of recent inquiries related to COVID-19, the Department would like to remind all Georgia State-Chartered Banks and Credit Unions of emergency closing notification procedures. Georgia Banks and Credit Unions Closure Procedures
Mortgage Fines and Fees
Application and Licensing fees, fines and examination fees applicable to mortgage licensees/registrants:
Annual licensing/renewal fees are as follows:
- $900 per year for Mortgage Lenders required to be licensed/registered;
- $400 per year for Mortgage Brokers/Processors required to be licensed/registered;
NOTE: A $250 Investigation Fee for a Mortgage Lender or Broker License/Registration is charged when the initial application is filed, but is not charged for renewals.
- $100 per year for Mortgage Loan Originators required to be licensed.
Branch Application - $330;
Branch applications included in the initial application or submitted subsequent to license approval require the payment of a $330 application fee per branch.
Change-in-Control Application - $500;
- Georgia Residential Mortgage Act (GRMA) Per Loan Fee - The $10.00 per loan fees required by O.C.G.A. § 7-1-1011(b)(2) and Department Rule 80-5-1-.04 are due on a semi-annual basis. Pursuant to Rule 80-5-1-.04(a), a $10.00 fee will be due if the loan is a mortgage loan as defined in the GRMA, and if the loan is secured by a deed to secure debt, security deed, mortgage, security instrument, deed of trust, a modification of a security deed, or other form or modification of a security interest which has been recorded. A change to a security instrument made solely for the purpose of correcting a clerical error will not be subject to a $10.00 fee. A mortgage loan shall be deemed to have been closed by a person if such person is indicated as the secured party on the security deed or any other loan document that establishes a lien on the residential real estate taken as collateral for the mortgage loan.
Each licensee who closes a mortgage loan in their name is required to collect a $10 "per loan" fee from the borrower on each loan. These fees are aggregated and remitted twice each year to the Department. On-line reporting is required at: https://bkgfin.dbf.state.ga.us/GRMAFee.html.
Mortgage licensees/registrants that act as the collecting agent (including brokers who table fund and collect the fee) must submit the fees and file the fee statement before the deadline to avoid fines and possible administrative action.
Please note that the fees above do not include any additional fees that may be charged for processing through the NMLS.
FINES AND EXAMINATION FEES
Fines are imposed to ensure that licensees operate as specified by the GRMA and the rules promulgated by the Department (the Code and Regulations). Fine payments must be made through the NMLS.
The Department is authorized to charge examination fees for costs incurred by the Department to conduct an examination. Examination fees must be made through the NMLS.