Mortgage Loan Originator Resources







MLO Licensing - Getting Started:

Please review the Pre-requisites for a Georgia MLO license to learn about the requirements that must be met before submitting a license request through the NMLS.  Please do not send jurisdiction specific documents to the Department more than 5 days in advance of submitting a license request through the NMLS.  When the Department receives documents and no license request has been made through NMLS, we will only hold the documents for 15 days, after which time they documents will be shredded.

The NMLS website lists licensing information and requirements and contains a checklist to ensure that you have submitted all required jurisdiction-specific documents to the Department. These documents are included with the applicable checklist and document instruction forms in NMLS. Your application is not considered complete until the Department receives all Georgia-specific documents (which must be submitted directly to the Department).  Applicants should also familiarize themselves with the applicable Georgia Code Sections and Regulations

CREDIT HISTORY: Applicants should be aware of disqualifying factors concerning creditworthiness.  The Department does not qualify financial responsibility on a credit score, but looks at the MLO applicant’s overall credit report. Judgments, defaults on student or government loans, child support in arrears, and other factors could result in the denial of licensure.  Tax liens, charge-offs or collection accounts, and foreclosures or short sales with a deficiency will also negatively affect MLO licensing unless a payment plan is in place and at least 3 consecutive payments have been made prior to the application.  (Payment plans will be checked at renewal for continuation.)


Please note that the NMLSR federal registration process must be utilized if you are an employee of a bank, bank subsidiary or a credit union.  As required under federal law, residential mortgage loan originators employed by banks, savings associations, credit unions, or Farm Credit System institutions must register with the registry, obtain a unique identifier from the registry, and maintain their registrations.  Further information regarding the registry and the registration process is available at the registry's website:





The Annual License/Registration Renewal Period for 2018 has ended. 

If a mortgage licensee did not file an application for renewal by December 31, 2017, the license expired by operation of law effective January 1, 2018, and the licensee/registrant must reapply through the NMLS.  Renewal applicants with incomplete applications (e.g., unpaid fines/fees, license items) will be expired during the month of January 2018.  Mortgage Loan Originators in an expired status may not conduct origination activity for Georgia loans.






Please refrain from calling the Department to ask for status updates regarding your application. We thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Before contacting the Department, please note the following:

If your application is incomplete, you will be sent an e-mail through NMLS outlining any deficiencies or requirements that are still needed to complete it.  It is imperative that your e-mail address in NMLS is accurate and that communications sent do not inadvertently get treated like Spam.  Your NMLS record will show your application with a Pending status until it is approved, regardless of whether we have all of your information. 

Information is available from the  NMLS Consumer Access website once the Department has taken action on an MLO application (i.e., approved, denied, revoked, suspended, expired). If you conduct a search through NMLS Consumer Access and the Department HAS NOT acted on your application, the search will return a "No Match Found" response.





Mortgage Loan Originator License Print Button

Mortgage Loan Originators who have a current and valid license may use the button/link above to access a secure site for retrieving and printing their 2018 license certificate.

You will receive your login information via e-mail from the Department ( after your renewal or new license has been approved.  Please note that the Department’s system is not connected to the NMLS, so there is at least a one business day delay in the approval e-mail from our system.  Please check your spam folder if you do not receive the Department's approval e-mail within one or two business days.  Please note that until you receive the e-mail from us, your new license certificate will not be available

If you do not remember your password click on this link: MBForgotPassword.html

After a successful login, please be sure to click on the link to open the printing instructions to ensure the best quality printing of your certificate.