Generally, a check casher is a business entity that engages in the cashing of checks for a fee. The Department licenses or registers check cashers operating in Georgia that cash checks for a fee.
Currently, there are two classes or categories of check cashing services regulated by Georgia Laws and Department Regulation:
Registrants - A registration is required if an entity charges a fee, the fee DOES NOT exceed the greater of $2.00 or 2% of the face amount of the check, and the service IS NOT advertised.
Full Service - A full service license is required if an entity charges a fee that exceeds the greater of $2.00 or 2% of the face amount of the check. Advertising is permitted ONLY by Full Service Licensees.
Note - Exemptions - An entity that cashes checks for which NO FEE is charged for the service is exempt from the provisions of Article 4A - CASHING CHECKS, DRAFTS, OR MONEY ORDERS FOR CONSIDERATION of the Official Code of Georgia.
As used in Georgia law, a “check casher” is defined as an individual, partnership, association, or corporation engaged in cashing checks, money orders, or other drafts for a fee or consideration. The term "consideration" includes any premium charged for the sale of goods in excess of the cash price of such goods.
To find out if an entity is licensed or registered as a check casher in Georgia, go to our Money Service Businesses (MSB) search page.
To report an unlicensed check casher to the Department, you may contact the MSB section of the Non-Depository Financial Institutions Division by one of the following methods. Be sure to include the name of the business, address (if known), and any other details you have:
Phone: (770) 986-1652
Fax: (770) 986-1655
Mail: Department of Banking and Finance
2990 Brandywine Road, Suite 200
Atlanta, GA 30341-5565
Georgia law, specifically Section 7-1-706 (a) of the Official Code of Georgia, limits the fee charged by licensees for cashing any check to the greater of $5.00 or:
Three percent (3%) of the face amount of public assistance checks issued by a state agency, federal government agency, or the Social Security Administration;
Ten percent (10%) of the face amount of personal checks drawn by individuals against their personal account or money orders;
Five percent (5%) of the face amount of all other checks.
Registrants are restricted in the amount of the maximum fee that can be charged, as noted below:
7-1-706 (b): "No registered casher of checks shall charge check-cashing fees, except as otherwise provided in this Code section, in excess of 2 percent of the face amount of the check or draft or $2.00, whichever is greater."