Banks & Holding Companies


The Department regulates state-chartered banks and trust companies that are headquartered in the State of Georgia. 

The Department does not regulate national banks (examples: Bank of America, Wells Fargo, Chase, Citibank, PNC) or federal credit unions, whether operating in Georgia or elsewhere.

Bank Holding Companies

The Department has regulatory and/or supervisory authority over bank holding companies conducting business in Georgia. A Bank Holding Company is an organization that meets the Federal Reserve and/or State of Georgia definition of a bank holding company, which is based on effective ownership or control of at least one bank.