Department of Banking and Finance

Human Hands Using Modern Technology

Department of Banking and Finance

The Georgia Department of Banking and Finance consists of two divisions:

The Depository division regulates and examines Georgia state-chartered banks, credit unions, trust companies, and bank holding companies.

The Non-depository division licenses and examines residential mortgage brokers and lenders, mortgage loan originators, consumer installment loan companies, money transmitters, and check cashers.


The side of a Courthouse building with large pillars and a blue sky and white clouds

Depository Institutions

  • Banks
  • Credit Unions
  • Trust Companies
  • Holding Companies


White Toy House with a blue roof and windows setting on top of Papers with keys and a calculator setting beside the toy house

Non-Depository Institutions

  • Residential Mortgage Brokers and Lenders
  • Mortgage Loan Originators
  • Check Cashers
  • Money Transmitters
  • Consumer Installment Loan Companies

Press Releases

DBF E-Verify ID#

Federally-Issued User ID #: 142186
Authorization Date: August 5, 2008

Stay Connected

Sign up to get the latest news and updates sent directly to your inbox.

Consumer Resources

Index of Financial Topics and Financial Literacy Resources.